Jack and Sam's

Dangerous Thing #15: Throw Things from a Moving Car

In Uncategorized on March 15, 2010 at 6:44 pm

Play with speed, gravity and wind resistance.

A road trip to West Texas gave our family an opportunity to finally dive into the 50 Dangerous Things. True to form, I didn’t read the instructions stating that this dangerous thing was best experienced at 40mph. And, if I read the instructions I also would’ve known that we should’ve tried multiple kinds of perishables. Oh well, typical me. However, this offers an opportunity to revisit this dangerous thing, right?

Location: Rte 67, Alpine, Tx.
Date: March 11, 2010
Speed: 60mph
Object: Banana

Regretfully, Sam wasn’t that impressed. He was pretty disappointed that the banana (we tried this 2 times) followed the wind patterns and landed behind the car, not on the side of the road as anticipated. Upside: He knows more about aerodynamics now! I think an explosion would’ve elicited a more enthusiastic result… I have a feeling we can arrange that. Stay tuned.

  1. I wonder if he’d enjoy the “experiment” me and my mates did years ago, where we found a very out of date giant block of vacuum packed cheddar cheese, and placed it in the middle of a quiet road by our home, waiting for a car to run it over. We only had to wait about ten minutes, hypothesizing on what might be the aftermath, before a guy in a toyota saw it and actually aimed for it. Resulted in total squishage but without breaking the packaging. Lovely tire mark moulded cheese brick! Actually, does this come more under a bastardisation of the penny on the rails experiment? I’m glad to see that Mr Tulley is now making it plausible for me to call my weird childhood antics “experiments”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

