Jack and Sam's

Dangerous Thing #30: Dam Up a Creek

In Uncategorized on April 2, 2010 at 2:49 am

Change the course of history (momentarily)


I was glad that this was included in the book. While not dangerous per se (unless you’re planning on upping the ante by sandbagging a raging river) it is, to me, one of the great joys of childhood. We had this big dirt pile in our backyard when I was a kid. That dirt pile saw a LOT of action. We were back there every day with our Star Wars figures. I would construct these intricate waterways with rivers, dams, and lakes… would work on it dry for hours, and then the big moment would come when I would bury the hose in the side of the pile so that the water would spurt out from the head of the river as if emanating straight from the aquifer. I was filled with satisfaction as the raging headwaters coursed down the winding path I had built. So anyway, that was loads of fun and I always notice kids are drawn to it. This summer we had the fun of going to Mt. Bachelor in Oregon where we actually got to play in a snow drift in July. The snow was melting and there was a tiny little creek running from the snowdrift and down the mountain. This kid and his dad arrived and this kid just went straight to work building a dam. I could see he was completely absorbed and could have stayed there for hours. His dad, on the other hand, pitched a few snowballs and was ready to get back in the car. I felt bad for the kid, but anyway…. something about dams and creeks is primal and universal. Unleashes the inner workerman or workerwoman in every kid.

  1. Absolutely awesome memories of damming up small rivers in the Conwy Valley as a kid. Also making rafts by filling massive plastic hay bale bags with air, tying them off and throwing logs on top in the middle. Too much fun! Looking forward to the next time we can be back there with my kidletts. My best mate tells me our rope swing over the river is still there waiting for us all these years later 🙂

  2. Awesome, KM! I must say you know how to live/have fun/adventure!

  3. Thanks for bringing back the memories! Is “catch a live crawfish” on the list?

Leave a Reply

